Information

Last Name
OMAN
First Name
Janice Penny
Place of Birth
Sexsmith/Canada
Scholarship since
Member since
01.03.2001
Date of birth
23.12.1955
Deceased
technique
Mouth painter
Curriculum

Janice Penny Oman was an active sportswoman until she had an accident in 1970, leaving her paralysed from the neck down. At the age of 14 she moved to Edmonton in order to recover and pursue rehabilitation therapy. She spent the following three years at the Glenrose School Hospital, where she completed her high school studies. Years later, Janice Penny Oman began to paint with her mouth and submitted her work to the Association of Mouth and Foot Painting Artists. She was given a scholarship in 1978.

The variety of her landscape painting derives from the motivation that the artist finds in the wonderful nature of her home country – the Rocky Mountains. Penny became an Associate Member of the Association in March 2000, which gave her the opportunity to express herself in an individual painting style. Janice Penny Oman then studied at the University of Alberta, followed by courses at the Adult Education Centre of the University of Alberta. Today, she teaches other people how to develop their artistic talent and finds time for visits to schools and hospitals.

As an active member of the community, Janice Penny Oman often shows other people the obstacles that disabled people face, explaining the importance of removing unnecessary barriers. For many years, Penny was a member of the Provincial Committee for “National Access Awareness Week”, which aims to make society aware of the difficulties of the disabled, and was also on other committees and commissions.

 

Paintings

Still waters

Information

portrait_167x250_58
Name
OMAN
Vorname
Janice Penny
Geburtsort
Sexsmith/Canada
Stipendiat seit
Mitglied seit
01.03.2001
Geburtsdatum
23.12.1955
Verstorben am
Malart
Mundmalerin
Lebenslauf

Janice Penny Oman trieb aktiv Sport, bis sie im Jahre 1970 einen Unfall erlitt und vom Hals abwärts gelähmt blieb. Im Alter von 14 Jahren übersiedelte sie nach Edmonton, um zu genesen und eine Rehabilitationstherapie zu machen. Die folgenden drei Jahre verbrachte Penny im Glenrose School Hospital, wo sie ihren Highschool-Abschluss machte. Jahre später begann Janice Penny Oman mit dem Mund zu malen und legte ihre Arbeit der Vereinigung der Mund- und Fussmalenden Künstler vor. Im Jahre 1978 erhielt sie ein Stipendium der Vereinigung.

Die Vielseitigkeit ihrer Landschaftsbilder rührt von der Motivation her, welche die Künstlerin in der wunderbaren Natur ihres Heimatlandes findet – den Rocky Mountains. Im März 2000 wurde Penny assoziiertes Mitglied der Vereinigung. Dadurch wurde ihr die Möglichkeit gegeben, ihren individuellen Malstil auszudrücken. Janice Penny Oman studierte anschliessend an der University of Alberta und besuchte danach Kurse an der Volkshochschule der University of Alberta. Heute lehrt sie andere Menschen, ihr künstlerisches Talent zu entfalten und stellt ihre Zeit für Schul- und Krankenhausbesuche zur Verfügung.

Als aktives Mitglied der Gemeinde macht Janice Penny Oman gerne anderen Menschen die Hindernisse klar, mit denen Menschen mit Behinderung konfrontiert sind. Sie erklärt ihnen, wie wichtig es ist, unnötige Barrieren abzubauen. Mehrere Jahre lang war Penny im Provinzkomitee für die “National Access Awareness Week”, in welcher der Gesellschaft die Schwierigkeiten von Menschen mit Behinderung bewusst gemacht werden sollen, und sass in anderen Ausschüssen und Kommissionen.

 

Bilder

Still waters
bild_250x176_1