Board of Directors

The Board of the association consists of seven mouth and foot painting artists, including the President and the Vice President. These must be full members of the Association. A Legal Adviser is a member of the Board too.

At the General Assembly in Vienna in 2013 Dr. Johannes Gasser was elected by the members as the Legal Adviser.

Serge Maudet

Maudet

Born: 01.02.1954
Birthplace: Roussay
Member of AMFPA since: 1983
Painting Method: Mouth painter

Serge Maudet’s hands and legs have been paralysed since birth. Already as a child his mother taught him to use his mouth and to hold a pencil between his teeth. “I was born with a brush between my teeth. Painting was my first means of expressing myself. As a child I painted the things that I could not do and that became the tool for expressing my feelings”, says the mouth painting artist. At the age of 17 he decided to take a correspondence course in accounting. However, he soon realised that he was not suited to that kind of work. He decided to dedicate himself fully to drawing. At the age of 22 he received a scholarship from the Association. In 1983 he became a Full Member of the VDMFK. In October 2002 he was elected member of the board on the occasion of the general meeting in Lisbon. In July 2013, on the occasion of the General Meeting in Vienna, the members elected him to the President’s Office of the Association of Mouth and Foot Painting Artists of the World.

Serge Maudet took private classes with a professor in Paris. As a landscape painter the artist follows the tradition of the French impressionists. In many paintings and some details the artist’s personal pictorial philosophy of life becomes evident. Every year Serge Maudet takes part in numerous exhibitions. In addition, every year he teaches various courses, aimed at those people who want to embark on the adventure of painting. Serge Maudet’s great success with his works and his courses have made the media report repeatedly about the mouth painting artist.

Ruth Christensen

Christensen

Date of birth: 12.02.1929
Place of birth: Lynge
Full member of VDMFK since: 1982
Painting style: Mouth painter

At the age of 11 Ruth Christensen lost both arms up to the elbow in an accident. In her youth she attended the arts and crafts school in Copenhagen. She then worked in an advertising agency as a gra-phic artist for a number of years. Back then she had already found her own style in floral and Nordic Christmas motifs. She designed a Christmas welfare stamp for the Royal Danish Post and a Christmas card for the European Council in Stras-bourg in 1992.

Aside from her job as a graphic artist, Ruth Christensen began mouth painting with an ambitious artistic language. Her colorful and expressive floral pieces, still lifes and landscapes are her preferred subjects. She also likes to ex-press the refraction of water. In doing so, she uses glasses filled with water which optically refracts branches and flower. She also enjoys painting children, animals and the Christmas spirit in various techniques. She generally paints with watercolors or oil paints. Thanks to her numerous works, she has already been able to participate in numerous exhibitions. Ruth Christensen has been a member of the association since 1982.

In 1992 she was elected to the board of the VDMFK which she is still a part of today. The connection and friendship with mouth and foot painting artists from around the world are her hobbies. She keeps in close contact particularly with her colleagues in the Scandinavian countries.

Kun-Shan Hsieh

Hsieh

Date of birth: 21.06.1958
Place of birth: Taidong
Full member of VDMFK since: 1990
Painting style: Mouth painter

Kun-Shan Hsieh grew up in poverty and had to support himself by working in a factory after leaving primary school. At the age of 16 he suffered a very serious electric shock in a work accident. The consequences of this were so severe that both hands and his lower right leg had to be amputated and he lost the sight of his right eye. Faced with these disabilities he taught himself to sketch and draw using his mouth over a period of seven years. In 1980 he learned the techniques of painting with a renowned Taiwanese painter. In 1990 he became a full member of the association. Since 2002 he has been a member of the VDMFK managing board.

His work has been influenced both by the impressionists and by the traditions of the Far East. His oil paintings are characterised by their rich variations in shade and colour and bear impressive testimony to his character that is both optimistic and full of humour. Kun-Shan Hsieh’s favourite subjects include landscapes, still lifes and animals. A particular love of his are painted snapshots capturing the motions of an indolently swimming river carp. In experimenting with the possibilities for painting in large format he produced a work with the title “Golden Pond” in a 259 x 182 cm format over a period of one year. This work won the American visual arts prize of the “Association for Especially Talented Artists” in 1997.

Kun-Shan Hsieh wrote his autobiography with the title “I am Kun-Shan Hsieh” in 2002. The book has been a great success in Taiwan and has been translated into several languages.

Tom Yendell

Yendell

Date of birth: 21.03.1962
Place of birth: Winchester
Full member of VDMFK since: 1996
Painting style: Mouth and Foot painter

Tom E. Yendell was a thalidomide baby, born without arms. For this reason, he has used his mouth, feet and chin for the activities of everyday life from childhood onwards. Following basic schooling, he attended and graduated from the Brighton College of Art. In 1986, he was given a scholarship by the Association. Having become an Associate Member of the VDMFK in 1993, he became a Full Member in 1996. In July 2013, on the occasion of the General Meeting in Vienna, he was elected member of the board.

Tom E. Yendell’s graphic works display a high degree of perfection. He likes to paint in powerful colours and with powerful brush strokes. His inspiration comes mainly from nature. One of the specialities of this mouth and foot painting artist are strict ornamental and graphically effective Christmas motifs. He has presented his works to the public at a number of exhibitions.

Tom E. Yendell is also committed to helping the disabled. Even during his studies, he organised an art seminar attended by 150 disabled persons. This was followed by further public relations work, championing the cause of the disabled in the press, the radio and on television. In addition, each year he holds a number of public lectures about himself and the work of the Association, which meet with an excellent response.

Thomas Kahlau

Kahlau

Born: 18.07.1961
Birthplace: Potsdam
Member of AMFPA since: 1995
Painting Method: Mouth painter

Thomas Kahlau attended polytechnical high school until he suffered paraplegia as the result of a swimming accident in 1976, which left him completely paralysed. From 1978 onwards he began to learn to perform many tasks with his mouth, including his first attempts at painting. He received lessons in a number of school subjects at home in 1978 and 1979. Following this he attended a painting and drawing course with a painter and art teacher for one year. He received a scholarship from the Association in 1986 and since then has worked intensively on his artistic development. He was accepted as an Associate Member of the VDMFK in 1992 and only three years later became a Full Member. In July 2013, he was elected member of the board on the occasion of the General Meeting in Vienna.

The landscapes of his native Brandenburg are among the preferred subjects in the work of Thomas Kahlau. Buildings and figures are also included in his oil, watercolour and acrylic colour paintings. His work, which is generally highly expressive in character has been exhibited in numerous solo presentations throughout Germany, but he has also participated in international exhibitions. Thomas Kahlau has frequently achieved notable successes with his art. A highlight in his career as an artist was the award of the prestigious German Distinguished Service Cross by the German President on 10 October 2000. This high award was in recognition of his artistic achievements and his social commitment. Thomas Kahlau also has literary work to his credit: he has told the story of his life in a book entitled “Die Kraft in mir” (“The Strength in Me”).

Soon-Yi OH

Date of birth:  15.05.1966
Place of birth: MaSan City
Full member of VDMFK since: 1992
Painting style: Foot painter

At the age of two, Soon Yi Oh lost both arms in a tragic accident. As a result she had to spend many years in the hospital. At the age of five she learned to perform everyday tasks with her feet. She attended primary and secondary school. In her fourth year at secondary school her teacher encouraged her to paint by holding a brush between her toes. Foot painting soon became her hobby and still is today. In 1985 Soon Yi Oh for the first time showed her paintings at an exhibition in Taiwan. In the same year the footpainter was admitted to the Korea High School Art Competition. Only one year later she began to study at university and later graduated in drawing. In 1987 the Association granted her a scholarship. In the early 90s she enrolled in a two-year art course. She became full member of the VDMFK in 1992.
Soon Yi Oh mainly paints landscapes in oils. She has shown her works at several exhibitions.

Grant William Sharman

Date of birth: 08.12.1961
Place of birth: Auckland
Full member of VDMFK since: 1988
Painting style: Mouth painter

At the age of 15 Grant William Sharman broke his neck during a rugby match, which left him quadriplegic. He had to give up his dream of becoming a pilot. During his stay in hospital he worked as a receptionist for a wallpaper manufacturer for seven years and after leaving hospital he was employed by the Auckland Area Health Board as a patient advocate and councillor. In 1980 Grant William Sharman was introduced to painting with a brush in the mouth by the mouth painter Bruce Hopkins, a member of the VDMFK who died in 1985. The training bore fruit, and it was only one year later that Sharman was granted a scholarship by the Association. As early as seven years later he became a full member of the VDMFK.
Grant William Sharman’s favourite motifs are flowers and landscapes. His paintings are characterised by a deep feeling for nature and great artistic instinct. He has displayed his work at competitions and exhibitions all over New Zealand as well as abroad and has received numerous awards and distinctions. It is therefore hardly surprising that the media have done a story about him several times. In 1991 he organized and staged his first solo exhibition. In addition, he regularly conducts workshops and speaks at schools and different organizations about living in a wheelchair and the ups and downs of life with a disability.

Vorstand

Der Vorstand des Vereins besteht aus sieben Mund- und Fussmalenden Künstlern, einschliesslich Präsident/Präsidentin und Vizepräsident/Vizepräsidentin. Diese müssen Vollmitglieder der Vereinigung sein. Dem Vorstand gehört zusätzlich der Rechtskonsulent an.

An der Vollversammlung in Wien 2013 wurde Dr. Johannes Gasser von den Mitgliedern zum Rechtskonsulenten gewählt.

Serge Maudet

MaudetGeboren am: 01.02.1954
Geburtsort: Roussay
Vollmitglied der VDMFK seit: 1983
Malart: Mundmaler

Serge Maudet ist seit seiner Geburt an Händen und Beinen gelähmt. Seine Mutter brachte ihm schon zu seiner Kindheit bei, seinen Mund zu verwenden und mit ihm einen Stift zu halten. „Ich bin mit einem Pinsel im Mund auf die Welt gekommen. Die Malerei war meine erste Ausdrucksart. Als Kind zeichnete ich die Dinge, die ich nicht machen konnte und so wurde es dann für mich die Möglichkeit, meine Gefühle auszudrücken“, so der Mundmaler. Im Alter von 17 Jahren beschloss er, einen Buchhalterfernkurs zu belegen. Es wurde ihm sehr schnell klar, dass er für diese Arbeit nicht geschaffen war. Er entschloss sich, voll und ganz dem Zeichnen zu widmen. Mit 22 Jahren erhielt er ein Stipendium der Vereinigung. Im Jahre 1983 wurde er als Vollmitglied in die VDMFK aufgenommen. Im Oktober 2002 wurde er anlässlich der Vollversammlung in Lissabon in den Vorstand der Vereinigung gewählt. Im Juli 2013, anlässlich der Vollversammlung in Wien, wählten ihn die Mitglieder in das Amt des Präsidenten der Vereinigung der mund- und fussmalenden Künstler in aller Welt.

Serge Maudet nahm privaten Kunstunterricht bei einem Professor in Paris. Als Landschaftsmaler arbeitet der Künstler in der grossen Tradition des französischen Impressionismus. In vielen Bilder und manchen Details treten jedoch persönliche Züge einer malerischen Weltanschauung hervor. Serge Maudet nimmt jedes Jahr an zahlreichen Ausstellungen teil. Zudem hält er jährlich mehrere Kurse für jene ab, die sich in das Abenteuer der Malerei begeben wollen. Der grosse Erfolg, welcher Serge Maudet mit seinen Arbeiten und Kursen hat, führte dazu, dass die Medien des Öfteren über den Mundmaler berichteten.

Ruth Christensen

ChristensenGeboren am: 12.02.1929
Geburtsort: Lynge
Vollmitglied der VDMFK seit: 1982
Malart: Mundmalerin

Ruth Christensen verlor mit 11 Jahren durch einen Unfall beide Arme bis zu den Ellenbogen. In ihren Jugendjahren besuchte sie die Schule für Kunsthandwerk in Kopenhagen. Anschliessend war sie während vielen Jahren in einem Werbebüro als Graphikerin beschäftigt. Schon bei dieser Tätigkeit fand sie zu einem selbständigen Ausdruck bei ihren Blumen- und nordischen Weihnachtsmotiven. So gestaltete sie unter anderem die Weihnachts-Wohlfahrtsmarke der Königlichen Dänischen Post und 1992 für den Europarat in Strassburg die Weihnachtskarte.

Neben ihrem Beruf als Graphikerin begann Ruth Christensen mit dem Gestalten einer bildnerisch sehr anspruchsvollen Bildwelt. Starkfarbig-expressive Blumenstücke, Stilleben und Landschaften gehören zu ihren bevorzugten Motiven. Zudem bringt sie gerne die Brechung des Wassers zum Ausdruck. Hierbei bedient sie sich Gläsern, deren eingefülltes Wasser optisch Zweige und Blumen brechen. Sie sieht sich auch gerne veranlasst, Kinder, Tiere und Weihnachtsstimmungen zu malen. Diesbezüglich wählt sie in verschiedene Techniken. Bevorzugt wird von ihr jedoch Aquarell oder Ölfarbe. Mit ihren zahlreichen Werken konnte sie schon an vielen Ausstellungen teilnehmen. Ruth Christensen gehört seit 1982 als Vollmitglied der Vereinigung an.

1992 wurde sie in den Vorstand der VDMFK gewählt, dem sie bis heute angehört. Die Verbindung und die Freundschaft mit den Mund- und Fussmalenden Künstlern in aller Welt gehört zu ihren Hobbys. Besonders zu ihren Berufskollegen im Skandinavischen Raum pflegt sie regen Kontakt.

Kun-Shan Hsieh

HsiehGeboren am: 21.06.1958
Geburtsort: Taidong
Vollmitglied der VDMFK seit: 1990
Malart: Mundmaler

Da Kun-Shan Hsieh aus ärmlichen Verhältnissen stammte, musste er nach Abschluss der Volksschule bereits in einer Fabrik arbeiten. Als er 16 Jahre alt war erlitt er durch einen Stromschlag einen Arbeitsunfall. Hierbei wurde er so schwer verletzt, dass ihm beide Hände und das rechte untere Bein amputiert werden mussten. Zudem verlor er die Sehkraft des rechten Auges. Innerhalb von sieben Jahre brachte er sich selbst bei, Skizzen mit dem Mund zu zeichnen. 1980 lernt er bei einem bekannten taiwanesischen Maler das Malen. Im Jahre 1990 wurde Kun-Shan Hsieh Vollmitglied der Vereinigung. Seit dem Jahre 2002 gehört er dem Vorstand der VDMFK an.

Seine Werke wurden durch die impressionistische Schule und die fernöstliche Tradition tief beeinflusst. Seine Ölbilder sind voller variationsreicher Farbtöne und zeigen eindrucksvoll seinen optimistischen und heiteren Charakter. Beliebte Motive von Kun-Shan Hsieh sind Naturlandschaften, Stilleben und Tiere. Besonders liebt er Momentaufnahmen der Bewegung eines Flusskarpfens, der gemächlich schwimmt. Um die Grenzen für das Schaffen grossformatiger Bilder auszuloten, fertigte er innerhalb eines Jahres ein Werk namens “Goldener Teich” in einer Grösse von 259×182 cm an. Dieses Werk gewann 1997 den von der “Vereinigung besonders begabter Künstler” verliehenen Preis für visuelle Kunst in Amerika.

Im Jahre 2002 verfasste Kun-Shan Hsieh seine Autobiographie mit dem Namen “Ich bin Kun-Shan Hsieh”. Dieses Buch fand ein grosses Echo in Taiwan und erschien in mehreren Sprachen.

Tom Yendell

YendellGeboren am: 21.03.1962
Geburtsort: Winchester
Vollmitglied der VDMFK seit: 1996
Malart: Mund- und Fussmaler

Tom E. Yendell wurde contergangeschädigt ohne Arme geboren. Deshalb verwendete er von Kindheit an seinen Mund, seine Füsse und sein Kinn für die Aufgaben des täglichen Lebens. Im Anschluss an die Grundschule besuchte er die Kunstschule in Brighton, welche er erfolgreich mit einem akademischen Grad beendete. Bereits 1986 erhielt er ein Stipendium der Vereinigung. Nachdem er 1993 den Status eines Assoziierten Mitglieds erhielt, wurde er 1996 Vollmitglied der VDMFK. Im Juli 2013, anlässlich der Vollversammlung in Wien, wurde er in den Vorstand der Vereinigung gewählt.

Die graphischen Arbeiten von Tom E. Yendell weisen einen hohen Grad von Perfektion auf. Er malt gerne in kräftigen Farben und mit kräftigen Strichen. Inspirieren lässt er sich mehrheitlich von der Natur. Eine Spezialität des Mund- und Fussmalers sind streng ornamental und graphisch wirksam aufgebaute Weihnachtsmotive. Seine Werke konnte er schon oft bei Ausstellungen der Öffentlichkeit zeigen.

Tom E. Yendell zeichnet sich zudem durch sein Engagement für Behinderte Menschen aus. Schon zu seiner Studienzeit organisierte er ein Kunstseminar, an welchem 150 Behinderte teilnahmen. Weitere Öffentlichkeitsarbeiten folgten. In der Presse, im Radio und im Fernsehen macht er sich für das Schicksal behinderter Menschen stark. Des Weiteren hält er jedes Jahr mehrere öffentliche Vorträge über sich und die Arbeit der Vereinigung, welche auf grosses Echo stossen.

Thomas Kahlau

KahlauGeboren am: 18.07.1961
Geburtsort: Potsdam
Vollmitglied der VDMFK seit: 1995
Malart: Mundmaler

Thomas Kahlau besuchte die polytechnische Oberschule, bis er sich 1976 bei einem Badeunfall eine Querschnittslähmung zuzog, in dessen Folge er komplett gelähmt blieb. Seit 1978 lernte er viele Arbeiten mit dem Mund zu verrichten. Hierzu gehören auch die ersten Malversuche. In den Jahren 1978 und 1979 erhielt er Hausunterricht in einigen Schulfächern. Anschliessend besuchte er einen 1-jährigen Mal- und Zeichenunterricht bei einem Kunsterzieher und Maler. Im Jahre 1986 erhielt er ein Stipendium der Vereinigung. Seitdem arbeitet er intensiv an seiner künstlerischen Entwicklung. 1992 wurde er als Assoziiertes Mitglied in die VDMFK aufgenommen. Nur drei Jahre später erhielt er die Vollmitgliedschaft. Im Juli 2013 wurde er anlässlich der Vollversammlung in Wien in den Vorstand der VDMFK gewählt.

Die märkische Landschaft gehört zu den bevorzugten Motiven von Thomas Kahlau. Zudem finden sich Gebäude und Figuren in seinen in Öl, Aquarell und Acryl gemalten Bildern. Seine meist expressiven Werke waren in zahlreichen Einzelausstellungen in ganz Deutschland zu sehen. Zudem beteiligte er sich an internationalen Ausstellungen. Mit seiner Kunst konnte Thomas Kahlau schon des Öfteren Erfolge erzielen. Einen Höhepunkt seiner künstlerischen Laufbahn bildete der 10. Oktober 2000, als ihm vom deutschen Bundespräsidenten das Verdienstkreuz am Bande des Verdienstordens der Bundesrepublik Deutschland überreicht wurde. Mit dieser hohen Auszeichnung wurde sein künstlerisches Wirken und soziales Engagement gewürdigt. Des Weiteren war Thomas Kahlau auch literarisch tätig. Er publizierte ein Buch mit dem Titel „Die Kraft in mir“, in welchem er seine Lebensgeschichte festhielt.

Soon-Yi Oh

Geboren am: 15.05.1966
Geburtsort: MaSan City
Vollmitglied der VDMFK seit: 1992
Malart: Fussmalerin

Im Alter von zwei Jahren verlor Soon Yi Oh durch einen tragischen Unfall beide Arme. In der Folge musste sie viele Jahre im Spital verbringen. Im fünften Lebensjahr erlernte sie, die Aufgaben des täglichen Lebens mit Hilfe ihrer Füsse zu erledigen. Sie besuchte die Primar- und Sekundarschule. Im vierten Jahr der Primarschule ermutigte sie ihr Lehrer, mit dem Pinsel zwischen den Zehen zu malen. So wurde die Fussmalerei zu ihrem Hobby. Dies ist es bis heute geblieben. Im Jahre 1985 präsentierte Soon Yi Oh ihre Bilder erstmals bei einer Ausstellung in Taiwan. Im selben Jahr wurde die Fussmalerin für den Korea-High-School-Kunstwettbewerb zugelassen. Nur ein Jahr später begann sie ein Studium, welches sie in Zeichnen abschloss. 1987 gewährte ihr die Vereinigung ein Stipendium. Zu Beginn der 90er Jahre besuchte sie für zwei Jahre ein weiteres Kunststudium. Seit 1992 ist sie Vollmitglied der VDMFK. Soon Yi Oh beschäftigt sich hauptsächlich mit Landschaftsmalerei. Hierbei bedient sie sich mehrheitlich der Technik des Ölmalens. Ihre Werke konnte sie schon des Öfteren bei Ausstellungen präsentieren.

Grant William Sharman

Geboren am: 08.12.1961
Geburtsort: Auckland
Vollmitglied der VDMFK seit: 1988
Malart: Mundmaler

Im Alter von 15 Jahren brach sich Grant William Sharman beim Rugbyspielen das Genick. Dies hatte zur Folge, dass er Tetraplegiker wurde. Damit musste er seinen Traum, Pilot zu werden, aufgeben. Während seines Aufenthaltes in der Klinik arbeitete er sieben Jahre für einen Tapetenhersteller als Portier. Nach dem Klinikaufenthalt war er als Patientenanwalt und Berater für das Gesundheitsamt in Auckland tätig. 1980 wurde ihm vom Mundmaler Bruce Hopkins, einem 1985 verstorbenen Mitglied der VDMFK, das Malen mit einem Pinsel im Mund gezeigt. Diese Lehre trug Früchte und brachte ihm bereits ein Jahr später ein Stipendium der Vereinigung ein. Bereits sieben Jahre später wurde er als ordentliches Mitglied in die VDMFK aufgenommen.
Grant William Sharman bevorzugt Blumen- und Landschaftsmotive. Er zeichnet sich in seinen Bildern durch ein sehr grosses Naturgefühl und einen feinen malerischen Instinkt aus. Seine Arbeiten zeigt er bei Kunstwettbewerben und Ausstellungen in ganz Neuseeland und auch in Übersee. So kam es, dass ihm schon zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Ehrungen verliehen wurden. So überrascht es nicht, dass auch mehrmals die Medien auf ihn aufmerksam wurden. Im Jahre 1991 konnte er seine erste Einzelausstellung organisieren und durchführen. Zudem leitet er immer wieder Workshops und hält Vorträge bei Vereinen und in Schulen. Hierbei spricht er über das Leben im Rollstuhl und die Höhen und Tiefen des Lebens mit einer Behinderung.