60 years of VDMFK

Historie1

60 years ago, on the initiative of Arnulf Erich Stegmann, 16 founding members met in Vaduz to hold the first general meeting of the Association of Mouth and Foot Painting Artists of the World there. In this way, not only was the Vereinigung der mund- und fussmalenden Künstler in aller Welt (VDMFK) founded, but this moment was actually the start of a success story which, with currently around 800 artists in 74 countries, has nowhere near yet reached an end.

At the time, Arnulf Erich Stegmann was himself already a recognised artist, and he wanted to enable other people who, like him, were only able to paint with their mouth or foot to share this experience. After the bleak years he had lived through in Germany, he found an oasis of peace, safety and stability in Liechtenstein, making it the right place to establish a self-help organisation which even 60 years later is still in a class of its own. Under the heading “Timeline” you can find out more about the history of the origins and development of the VDMFK.

In the meantime, this independent self-help organisation has grown to 800 mouth and foot painters from more than 74 countries. Despite great obstacles, thanks to the VDMFK they have all found access to art. With this new perspective, they strive every day to demonstrate their painting skills again and again, and thus support this self-help organisation with dignity and consideration.

On the occasion of the 60th anniversary celebrations, a plenary meeting and elections for the Board members were also held in Barcelona in April 2017. The mouth and foot painting artists have always elected their President and Board members themselves, and they also decide on the key strategic decisions of the VDMFK.

Following the death of Board member Trevor Wells from New Zealand and the age-related retirement of Mr Manuel Parreño from Spain, eight members from four different continents stood for election to these two seats. On 11 April 2017, 99 mouth and foot painting artists elected Ms Soon-Yi Oh, a foot painter from South Korea, and Grant William Sharman, a mouth painter from New Zealand, onto the Board of the VDMFK.

VDMFK Vorstand 2017

(The new elected board of VDMFK, Mr. Thomas Kahlau is missing on the photo)

Together with the other six Board members, they have the task of defining the VDMFK’s business policy for the next six years, an honourable but also extremely challenging task. The management congratulates the two new Board members on being elected and wishes them both much success.

As well as the plenary meeting, between 9 and 14 April 2017 there were also celebrations of the 60th anniversary of the VDMFK. On the Monday evening the newly-published book “60 Jahre VDMFK – Künstler, Bilder, Geschichte” [“60 Years of the VDMFK – Artists, Pictures, History”] was also presented. This highly attractive book is published in four languages, and can be ordered directly from the VDMFK or via the collaborating publishers.

Time and again occasions of this kind offer the artists from all over the world an opportunity of exchanging views with like-minded people and making acquaintances for life. A highlight of this week was the opening of the exhibition of the mouth and foot painting artists’ work in the Museu Marítim de Barcelona. The well-known journalist Glòria Serra welcomed the mouth and foot painting artists. Amongst other things, the opening speech was given by the Catalan Culture Minister Santi Vila i Vicente and all the honorary guests were presented with a gift copy of the 60 Years book.

(from the l.t.r. Ms Maite Fandos, Wealthmanager of the Diputacion de Barcelona, Ms Laia Ortiz, Teniente de Alcalde, Mr Santi Vila, Minister of Culture of  Catalunya and Serge Maudet, President of VDMFK)

200 pictures painted by mouth and by foot were presented to the public in the beautiful Marques de Comillas hall. The exhibition lasted from 12 to 17 April 2017, and attracted the interest of thousands of visitors.

(Exhibition space in Museu Maritim of Barcelona)

The culmination of the week was an excursion by the mouth and foot painting artists to the neighbouring Penedès sparkling wine region, an ideal location for bringing an unforgettable week to a close together.

(60 years celebration of VDMFK)

60 Jahre VDMFK

Historie1

Vor 60 Jahren trafen sich auf Initiative von Arnulf Erich Stegmann 16 Gründungsmitglieder in Vaduz, um dort ihre erste Generalversammlung der Vereinigung der mund- und fussmalenden Künstler in aller Welt abzuhalten. Damit war nicht nur die offizielle Gründung der Vereinigung der mund- und fussmalenden Künstler in aller Welt e.V. vollzogen, vielmehr war dies die Geburtsstunde einer Erfolgsgeschichte, die – mit derzeit rund 800 Künstlern in 74 Ländern – noch längst nicht ihren Abschluss gefunden hat.

Arnulf Erich Stegmann war zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits selbst ein anerkannter Künstler und wollte diese Erfahrung auch anderen Menschen, die wie er, nur mit dem Mund- oder Fussmalen konnten, ermöglichen. Nach den düsteren Jahren die er in Deutschland erlebt hatte, fand er in Liechtenstein eine Oase des Friedens, der Sicherheit und der Stabilität. Der richtige Ort, um eine Selbsthilfeorganisation auf die Beine zu stellen, die auch nach 60 Jahre seinesgleichen sucht. Unter der Rubrik „Timeline“ erfahren Sie mehr über die Entstehungsgeschichte und Entwicklung der VDMFK.

Mittlerweile ist diese unabhängige Selbsthilfeorganisation auf rund 800 Mund- und Fussmaler aus über 74 Länder herangewachsen. Sie alle haben trotz der großen Hürden und dank der VDMFK den Zugang zur Kunst gefunden. Durch diese neue Perspektive sind Sie tagtäglich bemüht, Ihre Malfähigkeiten aufs Neue zu beweisen und sich dabei würdevoll und führsorglich für diese Selbsthilfeorganisation einzusetzen.

Anlässlich er 60 Jahres Feier, wurde in Barcelona auch eine Vollversammlung und Vorstandsmitgliederwahlen durchgeführt. Seit jeher Wählen die mund- und fussmalenden Mitglieder Ihren Präsidenten und die Vorstandsmitglieder selbst und entscheiden über die strategischen Leitentscheidungen der VDMFK.

Nach dem Ableben von Vorstandsmitglied Trevor Wells aus Neuseeland und dem altersbedingten Rücktritt von Herrn Manuel Parreno aus Spanien, kandidierten sieben mund- und fussmalende Mitglieder aus vier verschiedenen Kontinenten für diese zwei Sitze.

99 mund- und fussmalende Mitglieder wählten am 11. April 2017 Frau Soon-Yi Oh, Fussmalerin aus Südkorea, und Grant William Sharman, Mundmaler aus Neuseeland, in den Vorstand der VDMFK.

VDMFK Vorstand 2017
(Der neue Vorstand der VDMFK, Herr Thomas Kahlau fehlt auf dem Foto)

Zusammen mit den sechs Vorstandsmitgliedern haben sie für die kommenden sechs Jahre die Aufgabe, die Geschäftspolitik der VDMFK vorzugeben. Ein ehrenvolle aber äußerst anspruchsvolle Aufgabe. Die Geschäftsführung gratuliert den beiden Vorstandsmitgliedern zur Wahl und wünscht den beiden viel Erfolg.

Nebst der Vollversammlung fanden zwischen dem 9. und 14. April 2017 auch Feierlichkeiten rund um das 60-jährige Bestehen der VDMFK statt. Am Montagabend wurde zudem das neuerschienene Buch 60 Jahre VDMFK – Künstler, Bilder, Geschichte präsentiert. Der wunderschöne Bildband ist in vier Sprachen erschienen und kann bei der VDMFK direkt oder über die zusammenarbeitenden Verlagshäuser bestellt werden.

Solch ein Anlass bietet den Künstlern aus aller Welt immer wieder Gelegenheit, sich mit Gleichgesinnten auszutauschen und Bekanntschaften fürs Leben zu schließen. Ein Höhepunkt dieser Woche bildete die Ausstellungseröffnung der Mund- und Fussmalenden Künstler in Museu Marítim de Barcelona. Die bekannte Journalistin Glòria Serra hießt die Mund- und Fussmalenden Künstler willkommen. Die Eröffnungsrede hielt unter anderem der Katalanische Kulturminister Santi Vila i Vicente. Sämtlichen Ehrengästen wurde dabei das 60 Jahre Buch als Geschenk überreicht.

(von l. n. r. Maite Fandos, Abgeordnete der Stadt Barcelona, Laia Ortiz, Teniente de Alcalde de Barcelona, Santi Vila, Kulturminister Kataluniens und Serge Maudet, Präsident VDMFK)

Dem Publikum wurden in der wunderschönen Halle Marques de Comillas 200 mund- und fussgemalte Bilder präsentiert. Die Ausstellung dauerte vom 12. bis 17. April 2017 zog das Interesse tausender Besucher an.

(Ausstellung im Museu Maritim in Barcelona)

Als krönender Abschluss der Woche, erlebten die mund- und fussmalenden Mitglieder einen Ausflug in die benachbarte Schaumweinregion Penedès. Ein idealer Ort um eine unvergessliche Woche zusammen ausklingen zu lassen.

(60 Jahr Feier der VDMFK)